Congratulations to the following 2011 Senior Award winners!

The Kreischer Bowl


Winner: Laurel Schwartz

The Kreischer Bowl is awarded annually to a member of the Senior Class who, through the application of imagination, perseverance, and high ideals, exemplifies the dream of the founders of Mounds Park Academy.

Other qualifications:

  • Citizenship, exemplary conduct
  • Enthusiasm and initiative
  • Giving of time and talent
  • Positive influence on the school
  • Promotes the school
  • Commitment to academic excellence

Sandy Kreischer Smith Senior Woman’s Leadership Award


Winner: Avalon Levey

This award was established to permanently acknowledge the contribution that Sandy Kreischer Smith has made to the founding, organization, and administration of Mounds Park Academy through her unique leadership qualities.


  • Takes initiative and is a self starter
  • Is willing to take risks and is self confident
  • Is reliable, always willing to help
  • Is independent and spirited
  • Is able to transform ideas into reality
  • Is a role model outside the traditional roles/expectations
  • Provides leadership to all

Paul B. Chmelik Men’s Leadership Award

Guiang, Matt - MPA yearbook.jpg

Winner: Matthew Guiang

This award permanently acknowledges the contributions that Paul D. Chmelik made to the Upper School at Mounds Park Academy.


  • High ethical standards
  • Orientation to service, both to individuals and the community
  • Character
  • Sense of humor
  • Dedication
  • Sense of fairness and integrity
  • Shows leadership by example
Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Share on Linkedin